< All Topics
Table of Contents

SSL (Secure Socket Layer) certificates play a pivotal role in enhancing the security and credibility of websites by encrypting data exchanges between users and servers. In this article, we will delve into the several types of SSL certificates available for businesses, each offering distinct levels of certification and validation from Certificate Authorities (CAs).

DV (Domain Validated) SSL Certificate – Domain Validated:

A Domain Validated SSL certificate verifies the authenticity of the domain name. While it provides encryption, it does not confirm the ownership of the domain. It is a quick and simple option for securing websites.

OV SSL Certificate – Organization Validated:

An Organization Validated SSL certificate is preferred for e-commerce websites. It not only encrypts data but also validates the actual business behind the website. The company’s details are displayed on the certificate, instilling confidence in visitors. Issuance takes longer due to the verification of company documentation by the CA.

EV (Extended Validated) SSL Certificate – Extended Validation:

The Extended Validation (EV) SSL certificate offers the highest level of security. Websites with EV SSL certificates are identified by a green URL address bar in the browser. Obtaining an EV SSL involves thorough validation of company ownership and domain name ownership. The meticulous verification process ensures utmost authenticity and trustworthiness.

Wildcard Certificate – Subdomains:

Wildcard SSL certificates are versatile and can cover multiple subdomains. Subdomains are prefixes to your main domain name, like “EXAMPLE.hosted”. They can be issued for both DV and OV SSLs (Secure Socket Layer), making them a practical choice for businesses with numerous subdomains.

Other SSL Certificate Types:

Beyond the primary categories mentioned above, there are specialized SSL certificates:

CS (Code Signing):

Ensures the authenticity of software code by verifying the publisher’s identity.

SAN (Subject Alternative Name):

Allows securing multiple domain names with a single certificate.

SGC (Server-Gated Cryptography):

Upgrades encryption on older browsers to maintain security.

SS (Self-Signed):

Used for internal purposes but lacks third-party validation.

Bearing in mind that SSL certificates play a pivotal role in safeguarding sensitive client data and establishing your website’s credibility in the digital world, it is important to select the right SSL certificate for ensuring your website’s security and creating user trust. Whether you require domain validation, organizational verification, or the pinnacle of security with EV certificates, each type offers distinct benefits. If you are unclear as to what type of SSL you need for your small business, please contact our great Support Team

Was this article helpful?
Please Share Your Feedback
How Can We Improve This Article?