< All Topics
Table of Contents

256-Bit SSL Encryption:   256-bit SSL encryption is a robust security measure, indicating that the encryption key is 256 bits in size. This level of encryption is computationally infeasible to crack.

Certification Authority:   A Certification Authority (CA) verifies the certificate owners’ information within a public key infrastructure, issuing digital certificates for data encryption. A CA ensures the certificate owner’s legitimacy.

CPS (Certification Practice Statement):   The Certification Practice Statement (CPS) is a document outlining CA practices and policies in issuing, managing, and revoking digital certificates.

CRL (Certificate Revocation List):   The Certificate Revocation List (CRL) is a digitally signed data file containing revoked digital certificate details and prevents browsers from trusting revoked certificates.

CSR (Certificate Signing Request):   A Certificate Signing Request (CSR) is the initial step in obtaining an SSL Certificate. It includes essential company and website information required for the Certification application.

Domain Validated SSL Certificate:   Domain Validated (DV) SSL Certificates will validate a website’s domain name, ensuring its authenticity. Users can verify this when clicking on the Secure Site Seal icon.

Extended Validated SSL Certificate:   Extended Validated (EV) SSL Certificates offer the highest level of authentication. The CA conducts an in-depth audit, renewing it annually to maintain information integrity.

Green Address Bar:   The Green Address Bar visually confirms a website’s security with an Extended Validation (EV) SSL certificate. It appears on high-security browsers like Google Chrome and Internet Explorer.

Host Headers SSL:   Host headers manage multiple websites using the same IP address. SSL certificates require a dedicated IP address, ensuring secure connections.

HTTPS:  Hyper Text Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS) indicates a secured, encrypted connection when a website has an SSL Certificate installed.

IIS (Internet Information Services):   Internet Information Services (IIS) is Microsoft’s web server software with comprehensive SSL support, including a CSR generation wizard.

OpenSSL / mod_ssl:   The OpenSSL Project collaboratively develops a robust open-source toolkit for SSL and TLS protocols, enhancing web security.

Organization Validated SSL Certificate:   Organization Validated SSL Certificates verify a website’s domain and some company details, assuring users of a legitimately operational company.

Session Key:   A session key is generated for encryption by the user’s browser after validating the SSL Certificate.

SSL Accelerator:   SSL accelerators enhance the number of concurrent SSL connections and speed up the SSL handshake process for high-traffic sites.

SSL Certificate:   An SSL Certificate, or Secure Sockets Layer Certificate, encrypts data transmitted between a browser and web server, ensuring secure data transactions.

SSL Handshake:   The SSL Handshake is the process where the browser and web server establish an encrypted SSL session, ensuring secure data transmission.

SSL Key / Private Key:   The SSL Key (Private Key) is essential for validating the server’s authorization to use an SSL Certificate, as it pairs with the SSL Certificate.

SSL Port / HTTPS Port:   An SSL port, or HTTPS port, is designated on a web server for SSL traffic, usually port 443, while non-secure HTTP traffic uses port 80.

SSL Proxy:   An SSL Proxy secures non-SSL applications by adding SSL support between the client and web server. Stunnel is an example of an SSL proxy multi-platform application that provides a SSL tunneling service for servers and clients that do not have TLS or SSL coding.

TLS Certificate:   A Transport Layer Security Certificate supersedes the SSL protocol, enhancing security.

Wildcard SSL / Shared Certificate:   A Wildcard SSL certificate permits unlimited sub-domain use on the same domain name. It’s ideal for hosting companies, ensuring multiple subdomains are secure under a single SSL Certificate.

By understanding these SSL certificate terms, you’re better equipped to make informed choices for your website’s security.


Domain Validated (DV) SSL Certificates & Wildcard DV SSL Certificates

Was this article helpful?
Please Share Your Feedback
How Can We Improve This Article?